A full narrative history section
Seymour Place stands at 201 East Main Street in downtown Batavia, New York. The two-story brick building was constructed in 1831 by architect and builder Hezekiah Eldredge. It was designed in the Federal style and originally served as the Bank of Genesee. Part of the building also provided living quarters for the bank cashier, combining commercial and residential functions within one impressive structure.
The Bank of Genesee operated from the building during an important period in the development of Batavia and western New York. Batavia had grown as the administrative center of the vast Holland Purchase, and financial institutions were essential to the settlement and expansion of the region. The original banking room occupied a prominent portion of the first floor, while finely crafted stairs, mantels, fireplaces, and woodwork reflected the prosperity and confidence of the era.
In 1886, the building was purchased by the Batavia Club, an organization composed of prominent local businessmen and civic leaders. The club converted the former bank into its private headquarters and created spaces for dining, meetings, entertainment, and social gatherings. A bar, dining room, and commercial kitchen were eventually added. The club also relocated the principal entrance so that it faced Main Street, giving the building the appearance recognized by later generations.
A fire damaged the original kitchen wing in 1966, requiring that portion of the building to be rebuilt. Around the same time, urban renewal projects were dramatically changing downtown Batavia, and many older structures were demolished. The former bank survived and became the only remaining nineteenth-century building in its immediate section of downtown. Its architectural and historical importance led to its placement on the National Register of Historic Places in 1973.
The Batavia Club continued using the building until it closed in 2000. The property was donated to the Genesee Orleans Regional Arts Council in 2002 and was renovated for use as an arts and cultural center. During renovation work, the original dirt floors in the basement were exposed, and an old safe associated with the Bank of Genesee was discovered. The building was renamed Seymour Place in 2010 in honor of local benefactors who supported the arts council and its restoration efforts. Today, the historic rooms are used for art exhibitions, workshops, lectures, performances, meetings, social events, tours, and paranormal investigations.
